Home > Publishing Schedule > World Champion books

World Champion books

We have two new books at the printer, with their publication date expected as the end of November. I would give an exact date, but the printer isn’t exactly sure on the timing.

The Road to Reykjavik is the first of two books by IM Tibor Karolyi about Bobby Fischer’s life and games. This volume takes us from Bobby’s early years up until his qualification for the world title match. So among many other things, it includes the legendary matches against Taimanov, Larsen and Petrosian. An excerpt is available here. The second volume, on the 1972 match and more, will follow next year.

Magnus Carlsen’s Middlegame Evolution by GM Ivan Sokolov takes us inside the mind of a chess genius and shows what we can learn from Carlsen’s middlegame play and how it has evolved over the years. An excerpt is available here.

I hope you enjoy reading both excerpts.

Categories: Publishing Schedule Tags:
  1. Steve
    October 13th, 2021 at 18:41 | #1

    I don’t want to sound rude, but is the extract from the Fischer book representative of the contents? It seems very different from Karolyi’s previous books. I would expect insightful comments on the games, with some deep analysis at interesting points, and just enough background discussion to put the games in their competitive context. Here we seem to get very brief notes on the games and fatuous reminiscences about a minor character from two other minor characters who hardly knew him.

  2. Paul H
    October 13th, 2021 at 20:27 | #2

    Ed Edmondson is hardly a minor character- Fischer would almost certainly never have become world champion without him (nor progressed to the actual match). Nor are Sherwin or Saidy minor characters in US chess of that era.

  3. Andrew Greet
    October 14th, 2021 at 09:55 | #3


    Paul has already rebutted the “minor character” remark and I have nothing to add to his comment about that.

    The main difference between this and the Karpov/Tal books is that this one does not strictly follow a detailed year-by-year examination of Fischer’s career. (This should be obvious from the Contents page.) These books were always intended to mark 50 years since Fischer’s World Championship run, so it’s natural that those matches receive the most detailed coverage.

    Having said that, the first 200 or so pages do cover the 14-year period of Fischer’s career leading up to the Candidates matches. Certain games in that period are analysed in great detail, while other games of interest are presented as shown in the excerpt. We are happy with the balance that has been achieved and we think the readers will like it too. It’s unmistakeably a Karolyi book – but just a little different from before, for the reasons explained.

  4. Oscar
    October 15th, 2021 at 12:31 | #4

    Happy to see these books and also happy that Ivan mentions in the book the plans for a second one.

  5. Al
    October 15th, 2021 at 12:33 | #5

    Hi; I would like to ask you: (1) is the series “Chess from Scratch” still ongoing? If so, when will the first book probably be released? And my last question, (2) are you planning to publish “Revision & Exam 2 (Beyond the basics)” and “Revision & Exam 3 (Mastery)” by Artur Yusupov? If so, when will these remaining books probably be released? Thanks to all of you.

  6. Jacob Aagaard
    October 16th, 2021 at 18:22 | #6

    1) First few months of 2022. Sorry, the last few years have been horrendous.
    2) Artur has no plans that I know of. We would love for more books, but so far, not planned…

  7. NIcoT
    October 17th, 2021 at 22:48 | #7

    Thanks for the update on these books. Cannot wait for Ivan’s books! They look superb! I’m pretty sure Ivan’s book on Magnus’ middlegame evolution will win an award. It’s something long long overdue for such an amazing writer.

  1. No trackbacks yet.